Skip to content

Gods of Atlantis: Boiling Point

Discover Boiling Point at your favorite online bookstore!

What does it take to live — and die — with no regrets?

Charra isn’t interested in the boring life her parents chose for her, nor the equally boring suitor. In front of the whole city, on the night of the midsummer party, Charra claims her independence.

Before the implications of her bold choice can settle in, Charra is swept off her feet by a mystery that threatens her entire island home — and by two miiquils who will equally steal her heart.

Charra has to fight to save Naushena from falling into the sea.

Will she fight falling in love — twice?

Will she realize what her blood family means to her in time to tell them?

Or will she let the destiny she’s always chased slip from her grasp?

Art of Charra, Belario, and Minnor by Psyciin.

For readers in a rut, looking for something different with their shifter fiction… Boiling Point is a shifter romance that’s not like all the other shifter romances…

Set in a rich but intimate science fiction world, with an anthropomorphic cast reminiscent of Brian Jacques’ Redwall series, Boiling Point offers character and relationship arcs in the vein of Xiran Jay Zhao’s Iron Widow or Kristin Cashore’s Graceling series.

Fiery protagonist Charra may remind readers of Marissa Meyer’s Cinder, Leigh Bardugo’s Alina Starkov, or Laini Taylor’s Karou. Meanwhile, there are plenty of transformations, flirtations, and divinations to go around — and a heart-rending “why choose” ending for Charra and her two love interests, Belario and Minnor. Boiling Point is a high-stakes, emotionally-driven story about unconventional and unconditional love.

Charra concept art by Chee.

Need more reasons why you’ll find yourself swept up in Boiling Point‘s 90k words? Here are five:

🐭 Animal-headed shapeshifting aliens!
💕 A love triangle that resolves happily!
🐺 A sympathetic villain!
🏝️ Island life!
🚢 Allusions to a certain 90s blockbuster!

Boiling Point would get a PG-13 rating, due to some graphic violence and disturbing images (towards the end of the book). There’s also a bit of swearing, though these are animal-headed aliens, so how offensive can it really be? Also, there is no explicit sexual content, but there is a three-way romance.

📻🎶 Listen to the “soundtrack” — the playlist I listened to while I wrote Boiling Point.

Art of Charra, Belario, and Minnor by Jesse Quinones.


Don’t take my word for it…

“There’s a lot of great character work in the narration and dialogue to bring our central trio to life, and I especially got swept up in the banter and flirtation of it all. Witty and imaginative, the sci-fi and fantasy elements are atmospheric and suitably backgrounded to let the character-led storyline shine.” ~ K.C. Finn, Readers’ Favorite reviewer

“I made the mistake of starting this before bed – ‘Just a couple of chapters.’ I ended up still reading at dawn, pulled into the delightful story, settings, and inhabitants of this world.” ~ Arlene, Amazon reviewer

Art of Charra, Belario, and Minnor by Katharine Linnea.