Skip to content

August Niehaus

wearer of all hats; writer, producer, musician, and creative cheerleader

“I have never listened to anyone who criticized my taste in space travel, sideshows or gorillas. When this occurs, I pack up my dinosaurs and leave the room.” – Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

photo credit Josh Hnosko

Ask anyone who knows me, I don’t really do labels. I make a little bit of everything. I dabble in all sorts of genres when I write fiction. I’d like to try every kind of creating at least once, if I can. I’m not an expert in much (except for voice design!).

But I can weave a good story. I can craft a solid cast of characters (especially if it’s ensemble) with strong motivations and bounce them off one another and a few plot devices. I love to unspool plots that circle back on themselves, to world-build casually but well, to power through a first draft in a few short weeks.

I also love to collaborate. I’ve especially enjoyed joining forces with visual artists and other writers to build shared worlds. I enjoy helping others take their stories from vague ideas to “characters, motivation, and plot” with a solid outline.

PSA: I’m not on Twitter! Since the Elon takeover, Twitter has exploded with misinformation; as a formal journalism student, I will not participate in its perpetuation. If you see someone on Twitter claiming to be me, it’s not!

If you’re here for my books, you can get them all here:

Gods of Atlantis: Boiling Point, a romance set against a world-ending disaster. Science-fantasy novel about animal-headed shapeshifting aliens, families both blood and chosen, and going after your destiny. For fans of Brian Jacques, Xiran Jay Zhao, and Kristin Cashore (but with more animals than those last two).

Daugment cover
Daugment, a tail of friendship in space. Science fiction novel about talking dogs, shiny ships, and scrappy rebels. For fans of John Scalzi, Timothy Zahn, and Clare Bell.

Promptly: Write Fast, Write Now!, the book of prompts I always wished Writer’s Digest offered me. Catered towards writers of speculative fiction, this compact book features sections (like Characters, Concepts, and Settings) you can mix and match.

Why Aren’t You Cooking?, a book of cooking techniques, tips, hacks, and motivational speeches. Great for beginners who have never boiled water all the way up to pros looking for a convenient set of lists to inspire. Co-written with my husband Jake, this is not a cookbook – it’s a book about how to learn to cook.

Short Story Boot Camp, a 52-exercise course that will teach you the ropes of writing a short story. It’s meant to be followed over the course of a year so your inner editor gets out of the way, but you can use these prompts any time.